top of page

acknowledgements

What do I have that I have not received? Below I acknowledge those who have had specific influence in making this work possible.


A few of you have expressed surprise that these deep thoughts have arisen in seven short days due to the coronavirus. Truthfully, me too. Yet, the question of ‘being well’ is one I’ve been asking since childhood. While I was the one to string these words together this week, the overarching ideas behind them are simply not my own. Below, I’ve listed my muses, supporters, and friends who’ve helped make this week’s work possible. I have received so much goodness. May I learn to steward it well.


To those of you who’ve followed along each day, thank you. It’s more rewarding than I expected to offer up things I see knowing that others’ eyes are squinting alongside. I hope to continue to blog regularly. I’ll keep listening and write when the time is right. If you’ve been encouraged this week, please subscribe and stay tuned for what’s next.


I pray these posts have nourished and challenged you in your waiting this week.


Keep steering in love, friends. Be well.


In love and gratitude,

Bekah


 


 

ACKNOWLEDGEMENTS


Joanna Sides, my faithful editor for this project. Thank you for ensuring that I stayed focused, succinct, and relevant.


Kathy Sides, my mom, who modeled many of these habits all my life. You were right all along; I just didn’t have the eyes to see. Thank you for being my loyal fan.


Morrie Mullins, for calling me a writer. Thank you for showing me how much I love to write. Thank you, too, for your unfailing inspiration to pursue workplace inclusion, and your sound guidance about how best to manage time.


Suzanne Stabile, for teaching the incredible power of repressed centers in Enneagram theory. (Find this revolutionary podcast episode here).


Neil Fiore, for discussing your research on the connections between perfectionism and procrastination, and for offering me fresh, robust mantras (i.e. When can I start? I can be perfectly human. I will not procrastinate on living.).


Adriene Mischler, for your training regarding the mind-body connection, the art of teaching in daily building-block fashion, and the importance of listening to my body. (Find her at-home-yoga youtube channel here).


Emily P. Freeman, for exposing me to the art of truth-nugget-delivery and self reflection. While I still have much to learn about this, thank you for providing a solid model from which to begin. (Find her first podcast episode, which largely inspired my theme for this blog, here).


Emeran Mayer, for prompting my study of the gut-brain axis, and the power of probiotics, whole foods, hydration, and exercise.


Richard Rohr, for stimulating my heuristic appreciation of the Enneagram and bolstering my faith through five years of doubt.


Hans Rosling, for challenging me to consider our world rationally in place of the sensationalism media has taught me.


Yuval Noah Harrari, Michael Gungor, and Mike McHargue, for waking me up to the destructive stories in my mind, and challenging me to let them go. Thank you to Mike McHargue, especially, for the faith you’ve modeled by telling your story alongside your doubt.


Marty Solomon, for feeding my longing to integrate a cultural understanding of Scripture, affirming my desire to ask big questions, and reminding me to trust the story. (Find BEMA podcasts here).


To my editor, cheerleader, and teachers: Without each of you, the partial truths I now see would have even more holes. Thank you for all the gaps each of you has helped me fill.


 

I have been exceedingly blessed. Even in the womb, I had two other mothers praying alongside my own as she carried me into this world. When I consider the communities that have sustained me throughout development and into adulthood, from St. Matthew’s Lutheran Day School, North Shore Montessori School, The Setauket School, The Stony Brook School, Wheaton College, Xavier University, Center for Autism and Related Disorders, Boosterthon, The Lovaasen Family, Songsu Elementary School, All Saints Church, Christ United Methodist Church, Immanuel Anglican Church, Church of the Resurrection, Redeemer International Church, University Christian Church, and The Mission Cincinnati, my loving nuclear and extended family (and network), and heaps of truly lovely folks I’ve met along the way, I am overwhelmed considering the good and strong hands in which I sit.


The past ten years were wrought with (often self-induced) hardship. As I’ve processed all that’s transpired, I’ve felt prompted to express gratitude to those who have faithfully supported me as I’ve recommitted to finding wellness. So today, I want to offer special thanks to:


Joe and Fawn Raley, for your love, loyalty, and assistance when I was ready to re-find my way.


Bethany Hall, for showing me how to ask for help and calling me into a new future.


Tina Thompson, thank you for educating me, guiding me, and pushing me to my limit.


Barb and Vince Navarra, for providing me shelter when I was ready to receive it and modeling wellness up close. Your love has strengthened me and encouraged me, exceeding my imagination’s bounds.


Abbie Womack, for honoring me, respecting my process, and bolstering my soul in my journey to re-find wellness, and for prodding me to start speaking.


Lydia Atlas, for your presence, translation assistance, and dependable care in hospitals, with doctors, while venting, in doubting, and in waiting for wellness.


Mariah Dern, for guiding me closer and closer to joy, and helping me find this truth: I can change my behavior and still be me.


Morghan Miller, for your loyal friendship through thick and thin.


Redeemer International Christian Church (RICC) community, for being Jesus’ hands and feet when I no longer believed he existed.


Lenore Person, for celebrating the best in me, challenging me to say what is salient, and sharing my genes.


Cristina Suazo, for inspiring me to keep learning, graciously teaching me the things I cannot yet see, and loving me no matter where I am.


Linnea Peckham, for steering me toward seeing myself, and loving me even when I could not. Your steady confidence in me has offered stability when I’ve needed it most.


Reyna Viala, for, together with your family, reminding me what wellness looks and feels like each time I forget.


JuYoung Bae, for coaching me to laugh again, expecting so little of me when I could not contribute more, and sharing your culture, family, and food.


Marissa Goodman, for your consistent support in this year of transition, introducing me to BEMA, and asking hard questions beside me.


Jill Stoxen, for seeing my goodness and honoring my hard work. Thank you for preparing safe spaces to listen and respond.


Alice Baker, for revealing the power of empathy, trust, and social systems. Your presence was instrumental in shepherding me while I was still asleep.


Jocelyn Loh, for enabling me to stay afloat in Korea, for refining my teaching techniques, expanding my Korean language skills, and choosing to see my best.


The Mission Cincinnati community, for your rapid, warm welcome as my new church family.


Without the love you each extended to me when I was still unable to receive it, I would not be where I am today. You have made my life richer, sweeter, and fuller. Thank you. May I, in the days to come, bless others as you have blessed me.


With my utmost gratitude,

Bekah.

bottom of page